Coronavirus travel news – live: Countries move to close borders as pandemic spreads

Latvia has now declared a State of Emergency, effective immediately.

The Latvian Centre or Disease Prevention and Control has said that travellers coming from Italy, Spain, France, Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Netherlands, UK, Sweden, Norway, Belgium, Denmark, USA, Greece, Iceland, Singapore, Japan, Iran, South Korea and China will need to monitor their health for 14 days after their arrival. This includes taking their temperature twice a day.

If you develop flu-like symptoms including fever, cough or difficulty breathing, you should call 113.  

The country is also shutting down all educational institutions and banning events with more than 200 people until 14 April. 

Related posts

Scotland travel corridors: Nicola Sturgeon announces list of 57 countries exempt from quarantine – and Spain isn't on it


Pilot arrested after Pegasus Airlines plane skids off runway and splits into three


Traffic chaos as holiday-makers head home


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy